Today was not a good day

Today, I zorched a drive. A drive with a lot of information on it. A drive that wasn’t backed up anywhere. A drive that had my entire Aperture photo library on it.

Yeah, I’m an idiot.

I recovered somethings from the cloud – from Flickr, Facebook, and Apple’s photo stream, but not everything. Particularly all of my original raw files. Which kind of sucks.

I’m still pretty pissed with myself about this one.

But on the bright side, it gives me a good opportunity to rethink my setup. Previously, the library was on an external SATA drive, but because my Time Machine disk uses the same SATA reader, I couldn’t easily back up.

Now, I have the library on my internal drive. I use Aperture’s vaults to back up the library to two different drives. And then I also use Time Machine to back up everything. So now, my entire library is stored in a total of four places–four physically different locations.

So I may have lost a bunch of shit (which I’m unhappy about), but in the end, it probably is better that I redid my system now, before I had even more to potentially fuck up.

Shit happen. That’s life.

Leave a comment