Dreams of the Past

Sometimes,
I will wake up from the strangest of dreams
I will wake up from a dream of the past
I will dream of things from days long gone
I will dream of things that will be no more
I will dream of things that could have been
I will dream of things that will never happen again.

I will create a situation, in my mind
I will create this situation, purely hypothetical
I will create this situation, as if the past never happened
I will create this situation, as if things had gone differently.
I will create this situation, as if we were still together.

I will realize, then, that this dream is wrong
I will realize, that this would never happen
I will realize, that I am better off nowI will realize, that I made the right choice
I will realize, that this is all in the past
I will realize, that it’s better this way.

And it’s time I moved on.

Leave a comment